My New Home (Temporarily)

I am living abroad for a couple of months, so far I can say it is interesting. Expensive, hot, rainy, humid, but interesting. Was I scared to take this big leap of faith and live abroad? No. Did I know what to expect? Of course not.

Why did I do it?

The experience. Oh, I am here interning. If you read my about me page, you know I am a recent grad and like a lot of recent grads, I do not have a job lined up. Anyway, this isn’t the section for this.

Where was I, the experience. Not just the job experience, but the cultural experience. I love to study cultures and it has been and still is a dream of mine to immerse myself in multiple different cultures. It is also a dream of mine to learn 3 languages and I am still struggling with the first one, so who knows.

This culture here is amazingly different. They are open, vivid, accepting, and comfortable. Where I am from, I am not comfortable. They also love air conditioning, road rage, and beer. If I find another $1 beer before I find a mojito! After getting off of the word the road with these people, I need more than a beer.

Oh, and don’t let it rain. For them to have an entire rain season here, you’d think they would be used to driving in it, but I shouldn’t be surprised. Its always 80 degrees plus here and they have the air conditioning on high fan 64 degrees.

IMG_1621
Water was initially hot, but this is what air conditioning does.

 

 

 

I have only been here for a week and a half, but other than no one in this country being bilingual, I am getting the hang of it.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.